Favorite Anime and TV Pairings (of All Time and In No Particular Order)

So, this is in the same vein as my previous post about my favorite book pairings of all time. Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to make a vid this time– cutting movie clips together in my video editor takes forever and an age, and I’ve been working/going to kickboxing/writing all week. My spare time has been devoted to finishing some of the books in my currently-reading stack, and answering correspondence, which really didn’t leave me six hours to edit a vid. I might still do one in the future, depending on how much time I have/what clips I can get my hands on.

That aside, I did gather some pretty pictures for you all, so I’ll just go right ahead with my list. 😀

Nate and Sophie, Leverage

The odd thing is, I don’t even like Nate on his own. I think he’s a whiny, manipulative drunk with power and control issues. However, he and Sophie have one of the most adorable romances currently running on TV, and Sophie brings out qualities in Nate that make him almost likable.

Dean and Castiel, Supernatural

Thing #1: Yes, that is a manip. Good one, no? Thing #2: Yes, I know, guys. Dean’s straight, Cas is asexual, and this pairing is NOT CANON. However, they did make it to the final round of eOnline’s TV Top Couples Tournament, and the writers/directors tend to toss out terms such as “long distance marriage”, “war widow”, and even the incredibly unsubtle and infamous “one in the trenchcoat” comment from season 6. So yeah. It basically boils down to that if Castiel had appeared in season 4 looking like this:

…. Dean would have been on that in three seconds flat, and all of the questionable UST that they already have would have become, well, resolved sexual tension.

(Needless to mention we might have had a girl on SPN who could survive sleeping with one of the bros.)

Alec Hardison and Parker, Leverage

There is one word that is perfectly apt to describe this pairing: cute. Sweet might also be applicable. Just watch this clip and let me know if your heart doesn’t melt.

Shunsui and Nanao, Bleach

These two were always my favorite couple/pairing/enemies from Bleach. There’s not really much overt romance going on between these two, but under all of the fighting and bickering there is a.) a man who cares for Nanao truly and deeply and b.) a girl who is very, very loyal and capable.

Ten and Rose, Doctor Who

They were fun. They had undeniable chemistry that Eccleston and Piper simply didn’t. And I do believe this is the closest that we have ever gotten– aside from perhaps Sarah Jane– to the Doctor having a canon romance.

Which can really be summarized in the following quote: “If I believe in one thing, just one thing, I believe in her.”

Amy Williams/Pond and Rory Pond/Williams, Doctor Who

Just when I thought DW was done giving us tragic and beautiful romances, they threw this one at me. These two love one another in ways that I was starting to think weren’t possible, and they’re also wonderfully fun together. And FYI? I would totally watch this show if it were real. 🙂

River Song and Eleven, Doctor Who

Way too much Doctor Who, I know. But I felt that this one needed mentioning. 🙂 I really do hope to see River back next season.

Buffy and Spike, BtVS

Despite the borderline abusive turn of their relationship later in the series, I identify Buffy and Spike as a couple by this moment, when Buffy is sitting on the steps angsting and the previously highly antagonistic Spike offers her a moment of absolute tenderness that harkens back to the bad, dorky poet he was before he was turned. Plus, they have more sexual chemistry than Buffy and Angel ever did.

 

Willow and Tara, BtVS

Willow and Tara, despite their difficulties, brought out the best in one another. I was profoundly sad when Tara died, because I feel like Tara was The One and The Only for Willow. Willow and Kennedy, Willow and that werewolf guy who’s name I can never remember, Willow and Xander– none of them had the same quality as Willow and Tara, two girls who loved one another so much that they were able to work past their issues with addiction and low self-esteem, and who, in the end, were willing to die and/or kill for one another.

ETA: For some reason, the picture I had for this pair completely disappeared at some point today while I was out running errands. So here’s a new one 🙂

So, who is YOUR favorite TV/Anime couple? Let me know in the comments!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adkwriter15
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 11:25:02

    BUFFY AND SPIKE. ❤ Ohgodyes. I'm a sucker for Angel and Buffy just because he was so much nicer to her overall, but mygod. Buffy and Spike. You know what I mean. 😛 (Also, musical episode. Best. Couple. Ever. XD)
    Also, call me a girly nerd but I used to be OBSESSED with Sailor Moon. That main pairing? (Which I avoid calling by the English or Japanese names to avoid confusion.) Still holds such a place in my heart. Also, I am a huge Sakura/Sasuke shipper in Naruto. Which is almost equally as dorky. So yeah. Now you know my inner nerd. 😛

    Reply

    • Em
      Feb 21, 2012 @ 18:07:54

      I have to admit, I’m not superfond of Angel in general, and I always thought Buffy and Spike had more chemistry. Also, the brutal/destructive way in which their relationship developed toward the end of season 6 didn’t seem very natural to me 😛

      I never really watched Sailor Moon. Does that make me a terrible girl-nerd? LOL But YES SasuSaku. Also Ichigo x Rukia, Uryuu x Orihime, Allen x Lenalee… all of your standard shonen action pairings.

      Aww, I like your inner nerd! (Mine is not so much inner as.. well… out there all the time. 😀 I refuse to feel shame about it.)

      Reply

      • adkwriter15
        Feb 21, 2012 @ 22:05:11

        Naruto is the only manga I pay attention to anymore, sadly. Don’t even have time to watch the show anymore, just read the manga. But I just. Can’t. Stop. XD

      • Em
        Feb 23, 2012 @ 19:02:41

        Likewise, I only sort of keep up with Bleach and D. Gray Man these days 😛 It’s HARD to keep up with multiple long-running anime/manga.

Leave a Reply

