Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That I’d Hand To Someone Who Says They Don’t Like To Read

When I was a kid, I devoured books. In first grade, I was already reading MG/YA  and classic novels as opposed to those little readers that they give you in school. Therefore, it was always anathema to me when my brothers or my friends would complain about HAVING to read books, because I was really interested in reading EVERYTHING EVER. As I grew and matured, I discovered to my shock and horror that this was not an uncommon attitude. Even now, there’ll be times when I run into people who say that they just don’t like to read, and give me a mildly dismissive shoulder shrug.

So I, of course, must rise to the challenge and recommend books to these people. When I saw that today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic was Top Ten Books That I’d Hand To Someone Who Says They Don’t Like To Read, I just HAD to join in. 🙂

(Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely folks over at The Broke and The Bookish.)

Top Ten Books That I’d Hand To Someone Who Says They Don’t Like To Read

1. Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone + sequels

This one is obvious. It got my brothers reading, it got my friends reading, and it started a wildfire in the world of young adult literature.

2. Good Omens by Neil Gaiman/Terry Pratchett

This was the first novel I was able to get my youngest brother to read that wasn’t for school. Success!

3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I’m guessing this is going to be on a lot of lists. Got my brother and three friends to read this one.

4. Anything by Patricia C. Wrede

Wrede’s witty, lighthearted style is sure to convert even the most hardened book haters.

5. Anything by Cassandra Clare

For that girl you know who says “I don’t read, but I did like Twilight.” Only, Clare is obviously tons better than Meyer.

6. The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

For that girl/boy you know who likes adventure and paranormal TV shows but doesn’t read.

7. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

For everyone. Ever. It’s impossible to hate this series.

8. Eragon + sequels

I am personally not as into these books anymore, but they do tend to get young people reading (and even writing!).

9. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Again, something of better quality for the Twilight-and-nothing-else chick.

10. The Amulet of Samarkand + sequels

This is a good one for boys or girls who are fond of The House of Anubis/similar shows but have a hard time finding something that suits their taste in books.

So, those are my (admittedly somewhat genre-slanted) offerings. What books would YOU recommend for reluctant readers? Let me know in the comments or link me back to your own Top Ten Tuesday post!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. readerbuzz
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 19:52:30

    I was the same way. I grew up with a mom and grandparents and friends who loved to read. It’s difficult to imagine people who do not!

    Here’s my Top Ten List of Books I’d Hand to Nonreaders.

    I’d like to invite you to sign up for my February Giveaway! Win All Kinds of Kisses or a $25 Amazon gift card!

    Reply

    • Em
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 18:25:30

      I know, right? When my mom pulled me out of school, I did meet a lot of people in our homeschool community who were book lovers, as one might expect, but I also met a lot of people who weren’t. 😛

      I’ll definitely be checking out your post and your giveaway! 🙂

      ETA: Your list link links to a gallery for the Casulo Hotel in Austin. Just thought I’d let you know 🙂

      Reply

  2. Jeyna
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 19:59:37

    I think even if i have HP to my bro.. he still wont read.

    Reply

  3. trish
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 21:06:16

    Harry Potter and Hunger Games are great choices for non-readers! They are indeed on a lot of lists today.

    Reply

  4. heatherlgraham
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 22:28:17

    So, for avid readers, which of those would you recommend? I’ve already read all the Harry Potter and I wasn’t into Eragon, but I’ve not checked out any of the others. I’ve thought about picking up Hunger Games. I’m always looking for a good read, so which should I try first? 🙂

    Reply

    • Em
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 18:21:08

      The Hunger Games, certainly…. Good Omens, The Demon’s Lexicon, all of Patricia C. Wrede’s books and possibly Cassandra Clare– be warned, however, that the first book in The Mortal Instruments series (City of Bones) is pretty meh. I’ve heard that the later books in TMI were fairly good, though I haven’t read them, and I’m really enjoying her The Infernal Devices series. She’s grown a lot as a writer since City of Bones, but her fanfic origins showed themselves far too much in that book for my liking. Artemis Fowl. The Amulet of Samarkand is also a good one.

      As far as which to try first… I’d say it’s a toss-up between The Hunger Games and Good Omens. :3 The Hunger Games film is coming out in March, so if you have any intentions of seeing it, I would say start with that one.

      Reply

  5. astarteia
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 05:58:50

    I haven’t heard about most of these!
    Already scribbled them down to find them at the bookshop. Thanks 😉

    Reply

  6. Rachel Kovach
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 21:21:51

    Nice list!

    I enjoy the writing style of The Hunger Games. I’ve read some YA fic where the writer is trying too hard to write for a younger audience, but Collins keeps us engaged both in content and style.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

