Friday Reads

Just a quick post for FridayReads today, dear readers, as I am at least 70% sure that the freezing rain in my area is going to cause a power outage tonight, and therefore wish to put this post up while I still have Internet. Oh, the joys of winter storms! 😛

Anyway, on to the books!

 

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

So far, this is a nice, light paranormal read with bucketloads of quirk. I’m not sure that I am entirely fond of Evie, but I do love her snark. And I absolutely LOVE what Ms. White has done with the mythology of faeries/vampires/shapeshifters! I’m not too deep into the romance quite yet– I am particularly interested to see how that might develop. (Also, this cover is LOVELY.)

Warning: I have some light spoilers in the next book-bit. Please don’t read if you haven’t read Mastiff and do not wish to be spoiled.

Mastiff by Tamora Pierce

I’m only about 50 pages into Mastiff, but so far I am liking it just as much as the first two books of the Beka Cooper series. Unlike many reviewers, I do not believe that the abusive relationship that Beka found herself in is unrealistic or out of character– women who get abused don’t go around thinking “oh, I’m going to meet a jerk who’s going to do terrible things to me today”. Even the strongest of women can find themselves in an abusive situation, and I think that Pierce has portrayed that with a certain amount of grace, at least so far. Also, I am totally psyched about Master Farmer, who is one of my favorite new characters in Tammy’s pantheon. He’s adorable. 🙂

 

What are you all reading this Friday? Feel free to let me know in the comments!

 


 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

