Friday Reads + PaperBackSwap + Coming Attractions

It’s Friday, Friday, and I do NOT mean that in the way that Rebecca Black does, dear readers, for I am as far from a party animal as anyone can get. For me, Fridays are about geekdom– book geekdom and Supernatural geekdom, to be precise.

I don’t know if any of you are acquainted with the #fridayreads tag over on Twitter. It’s a great thing; people post what they’re reading on any given Friday, along with what they think about it, and it’s kind of like Goodreads, in that it’s a way book geeks can use social media to communicate with other book geeks. Long story short? I LOVE the #fridayreads tag in ways that are probably a little bit creepy

So without any further ado, allow me to share with you MY Friday reads (which are really everyday reads that I just happened to pick up on this particular Friday). Mild spoilers ahead; nothing spoiling any major plot events, but I do mention favorite scenes and characters quite a bit.

Incarceron, by Catherine Fisher

So far, I am loving this book, though I have to say I’m a bit more fond of Claudia than I am of Finn. Claudia seems to be the “stronger” of the two characters, and I’m really intrigued to see how she’ll deal with the very political situation that she’s in as of page 142, where I stopped. And the worldbuilding is phenomenal, with every detail carefully thought out and every nuance captured by Fisher’s pretty-yet-functionally-fast-paced prose. I easily expect to have finished this book by the end of the weekend, and will no doubt go out and hunt down Sapphique after that.

Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare

I have to say, I’m liking CA lot more than I liked City of Bone. Maybe it’s my weakness for Gothic romances or my fondness for steampunk-flavored offerings, but for some reason, I just like it better. My favorite part so far is a scene on page 75, in which a certain character walks into a room on fire. His reaction– and that of the people around him– was hilarious.

The Broken Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin

This book is one I have to read slowly, and yet I’m enjoying every minute of it. Jemisin’s writing is just so lovely, her plots and world so nuanced, that you can’t help but savor it. I’m hesitant to say this, but I do believe this might even be better than her first book, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. The first couple of pages are perfect, and as you are drawn into Oree’s backstory and that of the gods, you WILL be hooked. Mark my words.

In other news, I recently went on a bookshelf re-organizing spree and picked out some books that I either a.) wasn’t enthused about or b.) haven’t reread with the intent of selling them or trading them in. The flaw in that plan was that used books generally don’t sell for enough to cover the cost of a new book, and also that none of the bookstores in my area could offer me a good trade-in rate. So, I did what any reasonable Internet denizen would do– I did a quick Google search and found PaperBackSwap. Half an hour in, and I’d already unloaded Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey and used my two start-up credits to pick out a Lisa Kleypas and an Ally Carter that I would otherwise have shunted to the bottom of my priority list. Shipping looks like it’s going to be fairly inexpensive, and I’m excited to both get rid of my old books and get some new-to-me books. Awesome!

Aside from book geekdom, Fridays are also a Day of Fangirling to me because of Supernatural, which is kind of my guilty pleasure. For those of you who have not yet seen it, Supernatural is about two impossibly hot brothers who hunt monsters through small-town America, occasionally aided and abetted by a cadre of allies, frenemies, and enemies  including a sort-of-almost-human-angel in a trenchcoat, an old guy with a trucker cap and a heart of gold, and a demon who just so happens to bear a resemblance to Crowley from Good Omens (whose name is, well, Crowley), along with a miscellany of others. Tonight, it’s new for the first time since a certain extremely traumatic plot event in early December (SPN fans, you know of what I speak) and I am excited beyond belief. Plus there’s Nikita for my spy fix. Throw in some chicken-and-dumpling soup and my books and my dream Friday night is complete.

So what are you all reading/watching/geeking out about this Friday?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heatherlgraham
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 22:49:20

    I’m looking forward to checking out your book reviews!

    Reply

    • emmajmcwill
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 22:52:19

      Thank you! I actually just finished Incarceron, and will be posting that review on Tuesday or Wednesday, as well as possibly doing up a quick review/rec for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, which I’m going to see tomorrow night.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

